Super Simple Crochet Ice Pop Holders (pattern included…if you can call it that)

Image

If you have children and you let them have those little flavor ice pops, then this is the thing for you! These are soooooo easy to make if you have a basic knowledge of crochet…probaby so easy that there isn’t really any reason for me to post a “pattern”! School ended for my children on Friday and as a little end of year gift for my daughter’s preschool classmates, I put these little treats together and attached a card with our contact information in case anyone wanted to set up a playdate during the summer break.

I never would have thought to make these, but my husband actually requested them (and then kept gently¬†“reminding” me) so that the kids would stop wasting paper towels :)

Ok, so here’s where I learned from my mistakes. On all of the holders that I made for her class, I left about a 10 inch length of yarn in the beginning which I used to sew the bottom of the holder when I finished crocheting. You can choose to do this too, but what we discovered after she used hers for the first time is that it probably would have been better if I had left the bottom open. That way, as she pushed the ice pop up, she didn’t have to take it out and fold over the plastic; she could have just slid it up as needed. Like I said, you learn from your mistakes :) Sorry to all of her classmates who are finding this out!

So¬†here is my ice pop “pattern”. I used 2 different kinds of yarn. The green were made from Red Heart and the pink were “I Love This Yarn” (which I really do love). I used a J/6.00mm hook with both yarns.

Row1: chain 15. Join with slip stitch to beginning chain.

Row2-8: chain 3 (this counts as your first dc in each of the remaining rows). dc in each stitch around. Slip stitch in top of the first chain 3 space. Repeat for rows 2-8.

Row 9: chain 2. sc in each stitch around. Slip stitch at the top of the beginning chain 2. Fasten off and weave remaining yarn through.

Viola! Your ice pop holder! Of course, both yarns are completely washable (a must for anything having to do with children). Happy crocheting!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. momentumofjoy
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 21:48:01

    So clever!!!

    Reply

  2. pillowsalamode
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 23:48:47

    So cute . . . I pinned it! :)

    Reply

  3. northofseven
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 09:38:07

    This is WAY better than the paper towels we use! :)

    Reply

  4. tgonzales
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 17:44:13

    Great idea! No more cold fingers. :)

    Reply

  5. connie
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 15:09:50

    i have been looking at various patterns to use for my family reunion the end of august i think this will be one of them,

    Reply

    • Joyful Mama Designs
      Aug 12, 2014 @ 16:40:13

      So simple :) Since I started making these a couple of years ago we have also discovered that the kids like to use them with the frozen yogurt tubes too (and it’s a little healthier too!). Also, I love using the cotton yarn for these now :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

