Kicking Butt…Joyfully

So last week I wrote about my “crafter’s ADD” affliction and I set a new goal for myself. To finish the projects that I had started prior to beginning any new ones. I am here to report that by Tuesday night of last week, I had finished the baby blanket that I had started! Here’s how it turned out.

As some of you may have noticed, my ADD kicked in just a tiny bit as I completed the blanket. It’s actually quite justified. I had just a little bit of yarn left after I finished the border of the blanket. It was just the right amount for a little matching newborn hat, sooo…

I couldn’t NOT make the matching hat! It’s like the yarn was calling out to me, “use me too! use me too!” (when yarn speaks, it doesn’t like to use proper capitalization). So even though I had not finished the pillow cushion yet, it was just a teeny tiny distraction. Barely took any time at all.

Good news is, the next day (Wednesday) was fully dedicated to finishing that pillow cushion. Thank you again Michelle of Royal Sisters for the pattern that keeps on giving (see prior post for a link to her pattern shop)!!!

So the pillow cushion being done, I decided to make my own pillow insert so that I could get pictures taken and post that onto my etsy shop. I have found my luck on etsy to be very touch and go–that could be a post all to itself. I think I might leave it on there for about a week or two and then if it doesn’t get much exposure or doesn’t sell by then, I might try it in another shop. We’ll see. For now, here’s the link for that  http://www.etsy.com/listing/99285121/crochet-pillow-case-in-teal-aqua-yellow

Mission accomplished. Since last week, I have moved on to preparing for Teacher Appreciation Week by creating some other little projects. I had really hoped to try my hand at making my own soap prior to this week (another diversion), but I ended up putting that on the back burner to finish up these last few projects…maybe soon. Until then, I did make these soap bags for my children’s teachers and for my neighbor to give as well.

This is a picture of one of our trial versions. I, of course, tested them out prior to making the 10 for the various teachers in our lives. I really do love these soap bags. They’re made from 100% cotton, they lather really well, they’re the perfect size for some of those beautiful handmade soaps that are out there right now, and best part is that I can just throw them in the wash with my towels. I really never have to buy another body poof again!

I truly hope the teachers love them. They do so much for our children on a daily basis. If I could afford to buy them each a spa package, I would. Until then, this will have to do 🙂 Not quite the same, but I can promise that the intent behind them is good.

Happy Teacher Appreciation Week all you teachers out there!!!

4 thoughts on “Kicking Butt…Joyfully

  1. Great job on being so prductive! It’s a inspiration to me! I LOVE the colors in the pillow you made. Thank you for making the soap bags for Teacher Appreciation Week. They are going to love love having those!!

Leave a Reply

