Cancer Awareness Afghan

Toward the end of this past school year, my friend posted one of the most heartbreaking status updates that I have read to date. Her son (my son’s very first friend that he met when he was almost 8 months old), had just been diagnosed with cancer.
They began a fb page called “Prayers for Elijah” to share his story and his journey while building a community of people who are willing to send positive energy and prayers his way. Please look it up to follow along with his story.
During this time, I found a free pattern for a “Cancer Ribbon Afghan”. I used the basic block pattern which can be found here http://www.crochetcabana.com/chatity/charity-patterns.htm
However, I chose to join my squares using the zigzag stitch (my preferred method when making granny square blankets as well) and then I added a “granny” border.

image

Here you can see a close up of the zigzag connecting stitch as well as the beginning of the border. I used yellow and white. Yellow is for sarcoma which is the type of cancer that Elijah has.
And here is the finished afghan…made with love and prayers for complete healing for Elijah.

image

2 thoughts on “Cancer Awareness Afghan

Leave a Reply

